Give up, Give in, or Give It All You’ve Got

Today was an almost disaster! 

 I’m in Chicago for work this weekend.  Today I had to have a blood draw to recheck my estrogen levels, since next week is ER.  If we miss this appointment they cancel our cycle.  Plus I have over 30 follicles so they wanted to make sure my estrogen was not super high.  I set up this appointment 3 weeks ago with Quest Diagnostics.  I told them it was a STAT test, and Dr. T needed the results no later than 2 pm.  They said it was no problem and they could do it.

 My conference started at 9 am this morning, I went to get my blood draw at 7 am, thinking I have plenty of time.  When I got there, I went over what they needed to do again and the receptionist looks and me and says we can’t do that.  I said, “Yes you can.”
 I cleared al l this 3 weeks ago.  She made a call, and then I hear her saying, “Oh yeah, we can do this, just not on Saturday.”  I GAVE HER THE WTF LOOK!  As she looks at me like sorry and begins to get off the phone. Then I say, “Ask them what my other options are!”   I was furious, a little scared, but there was no way I was not going to get this blood drawn.  I am thinking, all this money, time, effort and positivity, this is not F&^#ing ending today!  I told her that SHE NEEDS to find a lab that draws on Saturday, and she says, “I don’t know any.”  I said yes you do! It’s called a hospital, get on the phone and start calling!  I had her look up all the different hospitals in the area, and we both began calling.  I did not give a flying F%$^ who was waiting in the waiting area.  They were all going to have to sit their @$$es there and wait!

After calling numerous hospitals, Evanston Hospital right outside Chicago is partner with an IVF clinic and did the rapid Estradiol test and would page my doctor.  I almost cried!  They were so sweet, so nice, and so understanding.  They just simply said, “come on in, we’ll get it done.”  

So I was an hour late for my conference, but test was done.  Estrogen only rose a little bit.  Still on only 50 units of Follistim (which I did not bother to even go to a restroom to take tonight, I ate at a restaurant alone, and used the table cloth as a shield), and ER will be Wednesday which I am happy about because I am super uncomfortable!   I usually never get upset, but understandably I let out a few choice words.

Anyway, here is to hoping everyone’s night is amazing!

